Going The Distance ~ Today

When I signed up to do the Vineman 70.3 in July I thought it would be a good idea to also sign up to do a half marathon as part of the training. My logic was that because the 70.3 includes a half marathon it would be good to do it and get it out of the way. Good idea, right?

Something you may or may not know about me is, I have to do a distance before I do the event. I need to know that I will indeed be able to complete it. Most people, from what I understand, don’t do the entire distance as part of their training.

When we did the Tour de Cure, Don and I drove to San Diego and rode the course a few weeks before the actual ride. I was so glad I did because I had some work to do to get ready for it.

Before we did the Triathlon at Pacific Grove, we did many olympic distance blocks on the weekends leading up to our event. (We did taper and rest before the event)

My coach has been kind enough to humour me and scheduled a 13 mile run before the SLO Half Marathon. The race is April 22nd. The time has come to do the distance.

Today

I am going the distance today.

Really…today….

I am a bit apprehensive about it. My longest walk/run to date is 8.34 miles. At the end of the run (jog) I felt like I could have gone farther…. Maybe that means I can do 13???? I hope so.

All you running friends…what do you do during a half marathon or other long distance to get through? Do you eat or just rely on fluids? Do you just drink water or do you drink an electrolyte drink?

Gracious! I am so nervous!!!!

One thought on “Going The Distance ~ Today

Leave a Reply

