Surprising Myself

Triathlon training has brought about quite a few changes in me. I am feeling healthier, I am getting stronger, my cardio endurance is much more than it used to be. It’s all good stuff.

My coach puts out a training schedule 3 weeks at a time. I try to stick to the schedule and get all the workouts done. I figure if she is going to take the time to put it together the least I can do it abide by it.

Yesterday was a run day. 2 hours and 15 minutes was scheduled. I have no problem on Tuesdays, Saturdays and Sundays sticking with the schedule because those are coach workout days. One of the coaches is there, at the scheduled time, waiting to kick my rear. Yesterday was an “on your own day”…a “you gotta do it because you want to day”…a “there is no one there to keep you accountable or push you day.”

So…I got myself ready to go. As I was getting myself pumped to go Patty called… a delay. UGH! I was fine with it. One of the reasons I quit working was so I could be available to mommy her. I was still determined to get my run in.

I did get it in. The entire time. I even  challenged myself and ran in the river bottom. My pace was slower because of the sandy dirt, but it was a great work out. As I was running (running is a loose term here) it occurred to me that I was running by myself because I wanted to and I was enjoying it. For all you life long runners out there…no big deal right? But for the never been runners, trying to find the motivation to just do it…CAN YOU BELIEVE IT!!!!!

I spent a lot of the time before the workout telling myself that I was not going to talk myself out of it. I wasn’t going to let myself off easy. I wasn’t going to remind myself that I am fat or that I can’t do it or that I look dumb “running” so dang slow. When the self-defeating thoughts crept in I quickly thought of something else.

Tomorrow we do our first triathlon of the season. We are doing a longer the sprint, shorter than olympic tri in Visalia.  I am pretty excited!!! I will report on it as soon as I get the chance.

Leave a Reply

